President Eric Brettschneider Vice President Susan L. Burden, MSW Treasurer Scott Posner Secretary Lauren Shortt Pinto Commissioner, Administration for Children’s Services Gladys Carrión Executive Director Saroya Friedman-Gonzalez Board Members Nicole Arnaboldi Jon Blum Donya Archer Bommer Brentin Brown-Bullock Gladys Carrión Kathryn Conroy Vanessa Cornell Lise B. Evans Susan Egbert Gilroy Larry Harris Nancy Jarecki Louis…

Read More

  New Yorkers For Children (NYFC) serves as the nonprofit partner for and works in support of the Administration for Children’s Services (ACS). This partnership provides NYFC the unique opportunity to significantly impact New York City’s child welfare system. Throughout the year, NYFC and ACS collaborate on larger initiatives, which test best practices for serving…

Read More

The Youth Financial Empowerment (YFE) initiative is an asset building program for youth transitioning from foster care. This unique financial savings program offers youth in foster care, ages 16-21, the opportunity to save for specific asset purchases (education and homeownership) that will support economic independence. Participants contribute to these accounts with earned income and these contributions…

Read More

Saroya Friedman-Gonzalez Executive Director sfriedman-gonzalez@newyorkersforchildren.org Ellen Ampofo Youth Academic Advisor eampofo@newyorkersforchildren.org Yeymi Hoffmans Director of Finance yhoffmans@newyorkersforchildren.org Taj Haider Director of Development thaider@newyorkersforchildren.org Vanessa Marquez Director of Communications and Marketing vmarquez@newyorkersforchildren.org Cassandra Rosser Administrative Assistant crosser@newyorkersforchildren.org Debra Stumpf Administrative Director dstumpf@newyorkersforchildren.org

Read More

Katia, John Jay College Katia will be entering her last semester this fall. She is studying Forensic Psychology at John Jay College. She is described as a diligent student whose example inspires the other youth at her foster care agency. She was placed into foster care after losing her mother to a violent act. She did…

Read More

This educational initiative assists young people in foster care to prepare for the Regents and college entry exams by providing PSAT, Regents, and SAT prep courses.

Read More

On September 22nd, NYFC will host our Tenth Annual Fall Gala at Cipriani 42 to benefit youth in foster care in New York City. Mary J. Blige, Philanthropist and Founder of FFAWN, will be honored and Anderson Cooper, CNN Anchor, will serve as the evening’s host. This year’s Co-Chairs are Nina and Mitch Davidson, Oscar de la…

Read More

Established by the Board of Directors of NYFC in 2002, The Friends of New Yorkers For Children (The Friends Committee) is composed of New Yorkers who support the goals and plans of NYFC. Members of The Friends Committee help to support and participate in programs for children and young people who are in foster care…

Read More