On Tuesday, November 30th, P. Diddy’s new teen discoveries B5, Hip Hop Legend D-Nice and several of Hip Hop’s hottest artists joined Dayssi Olarte de Kanavos and Norma Olarte Becker, Tinsley Mortimer, Valesca Guerrand-Hermes, Alexandra Lind Rose, Marisa Brown, Lauren Davis, Claire Bernard, Susan L. Burden and 30 teens in foster care at New Yorkers…

Read More

On November 28th, 2006, members of the Friends of New Yorkers For Children were joined by NYFC supporters and young people in foster care for the 4th Annual Wrap to Rap.  DJ D-Nice set the tone for the afternoon, spinning hip hop classic that were perfect for the impromptu dance lessons that sprang up.  Friends including…

Read More

On November 14, 2007 Delta Air Lines and New Yorkers For Children hosted the Fifth Annual “Wrap to Rap”, an afternoon of wrapping gifts for youth in foster care in New York City at Sky360° by Delta.  While DJ Sky Nellor spun hip hop classics, LeAnn Rimes, Damon Dash and the NYFC Friends Committee were…

Read More

NYFC Staff: Catherine Hilyard Youth Program Coordinator chilyard@newyorkersforchildren.org Jessica Kowalczyk Foundation and Communications Coordinator jkowalczyk@newyorkersforchildren.org Erin Kuchar Manager of Special Events ekuchar@newyorkersforchildren.org Susan Magazine Executive Director smagazine@newyorkersforchildren.org Subash Midha Controller smidha@newyorkersforchildren.org Cassandra Rosser Administrative Assistant crosser@newyorkersforchildren.org Debra Stumpf Administrative Director dstumpf@newyorkersforchildren.org

Read More

On June 13, 2007 NYFC brought together influential designers, merchandisers, fashion writers, stylists, and more for a Fashion Network to Success panel. Elie Tahari, John Varvatos, Jim Seuss, Stefani Greenfield, Philip Bloch, Anne Slowey, Fern Mallis, BJ Coleman, Aja Mangum, and Horacio Silva were among the panelists who provided valuable information about their experiences in the…

Read More

On Wednesday, December 5, 2007, more than 100 young people in foster care filled the auditorium at the New School for a Network to Success event featuring a panel of foster care alumni.  Reverend Alfonso Wyatt, the 2006 recipient of the NYFC Nicholas Scoppetta Child Welfare Award, served as the moderator for the evening, and…

Read More

New Yorkers For Children hosted our Tenth Network to Success, focused on music, film, and television industries on Wednesday, May 7th at the NYU Kimmel Center. The Friends and Board Members of NYFC were instrumental in securing some of the most successful and prominent professionals from the entertainment industry, including actress Joy Bryant, music video director…

Read More

To kick off 2007, NYFC hosted a Network to Success event that focused on the hip-hop industry. The event took place on January 17th at the NYU Kimmel Center.  Over 150 teens in foster care joined members of the Board and Friends Committee, including Commissioner Nicholas Scoppetta, Susan Burden, Tinsley Mortimer, Dabney Mercer, Fabiola Beracasa, Eva…

Read More

  Susan L.Magazine, Executive Director   Susan L. Magazine joined New Yorkers For Children as Executive Director in February of 2003 and has successfully expanded the organization’s programming for youth in foster care. In June 2008, Ms. Magazine was instrumental in issuing NYFC’s first Request-for-Proposals, which provided over $800,000 in funding to foster care agencies,…

Read More

                 Nicholas Scoppetta, Founder and President of Emeritus After nearly five decades of service to the City of New York, Nicholas Scoppetta retired from his position as the 31st Fire Commissioner in January of 2010. Mr. Scoppetta was appointed Fire Commissioner of the City of New York by Mayor…

Read More